Welcome to the European Association for Cancer Research
Europe’s membership association for cancer researchers

Previous winners of the Mike Price Award

EACR awards 2016 Mike Price Gold Medal to Professor Sir Michael Stratton

The Mike Price Gold Medal is presented biennially to a senior researcher who has made an exceptional contribution to cancer research in Europe.

We are delighted to announce that the 2016 award will be presented to Professor Sir Michael Stratton of the Wellcome Trust Sanger Institute, UK. Professor Stratton will receive the Mike Price Gold Medal and deliver the closing lecture at EACR-24 in (Manchester, UK, 9-12 July 2016).

Mike Stratton is Director of the Wellcome Trust Sanger Institute. His primary research interests have been in the genetics of cancer. His early research focused on inherited susceptibility. He mapped and identified the major high risk breast cancer susceptibility gene BRCA2 and subsequently a series of moderate risk breast cancer and other cancer susceptibility genes.

In 2000 he initiated the Cancer Genome Project at the Wellcome Trust Sanger Institute which conducts systematic genome-wide searches for somatic mutations in human cancer. Through these studies he discovered somatic mutations of the BRAF gene in malignant melanoma and several other mutated cancer genes in lung, renal, breast and other cancers. He has described the basic patterns of somatic mutation in cancer genomes revealing underlying DNA mutational and repair processes.

He is a Fellow of the Royal Society (FRS) and was Knighted by the Queen in 2013.


Mike Price Gold Medal Award winner at EACR-23 in Munich

We are delighted to announce that the 2014 Mike Price Gold Medal Award will be presented to Professor Harald zur Hausen. Professor zur Hausen will receive the Mike Price Gold Medal and deliver the closing lecture at EACR-23.

Professor zur Hausen was awarded the Nobel Prize for medicine in 2008 for his work on the role of papilloma viruses in causing cervical cancer. His research made it possible to develop a vaccine against the third most frequent kind of cancer affecting women.

Harald zur Hausen was born on March 11, 1936 in Gelsenkirchen-Buer, Germany. He studied Medicine at the Universities of Bonn, Hamburg and Düsseldorf and received his M.D. in 1960. After his internship he worked as postdoc at the Institute of Microbiology in Düsseldorf, subsequently in the Virus Laboratories of the Children's Hospital in Philadelphia where he was later appointed as Assistant Professor. After a period of 3 years as a senior scientist at the Institute of Virology of the University of Würzburg, he was appointed in 1972 as Chairman and Professor of Virology at the University of Erlangen-Nürnberg. In 1977 he moved to a similar position to the University of Freiburg. From 1983 until 2003 he was appointed as Scientific Director of the Deutsches Krebsforschungszentrum (German Cancer Research Center) in Heidelberg. He retired from this position in 2003.


José Baselga, M.D., Ph.D. to receive the first Mike Price Gold Medal at EACR-22 in Barcelona

The EACR Awards Committee is delighted to announce that the inaugural award will be made in Barcelona to José Baselga, M.D., Ph.D. and that Dr Baselga will give the award lecture on ‘The Future of Personalised Medicine’ at the culmination of the EACR congress.

José Baselga is the Chief of the Division of Hematology/Oncology and Associate Director of the Massachusetts General Hospital Cancer Center in Boston where he is also Professor of Medicine at Harvard Medical School.

His research interests are in clinical breast cancer and in translational and early clinical research. He conducted the initial clinical trials with the monoclonal antibodies cetuximab and trastuzumab and is leading the clinical development of several new agents including pertuzumab and PI3K inhibitors. His main focus in the laboratory and in the clinic is in the area of novel anti-HER2 agents, in the identification of mechanisms of resistance to anti-HER2 agents and therapeutic approaches to target the PI3K pathway. He is also leading a number of neo-adjuvant trials in breast cancer and has been at the forefront of developing biomarker-based early and translational clinical trials.

Dr. Baselga received his M.D. and Ph.D. degree from the Universidad Autonoma of Barcelona. He completed a fellowship in Medical Oncology at Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center in New York and subsequently stayed on as a faculty member of the Breast Medicine Service at Memorial Sloan-Kettering. From 1996 to 2010 he was the Chairman of the Medical Oncology Service and Founding Director of the Vall d’Hebron Institute of Oncology (VHIO) at the Vall d'Hebron University Hospital in Barcelona, Spain.

A recipient of many awards during his distinguished career, Dr Baselga was most recently the recipient of the Queen Sofía Spanish Institute’s Gold Medal. He was selected for this prestigious award for representing Spain’s leadership in the area of cancer research.

Dr Baselga is a member of the Editorial Boards of Cancer Cell, Clinical Cancer Research and Annals of Oncology and he is the founding editor-in-chief on the new flagship journal Cancer Discovery. He has published over 250 peer-reviewed articles.

Julio Celis, EACR President said, ‘We are delighted that José Baselga will receive our new award the ‘Mike Price Gold Medal’.  Dr Baselga’s work and achievements are impressive and stand as an inspiration to all of us active in cancer research. The committee is also delighted that Dr Baselga has accepted our invitation to receive his award in person at EACR-22 and give an essential keynote talk highlighting the principal theme of our congress.’

Share this page

Sorry. You need to upgrade your browser

You are using Internet Explorer 8

This is considered an out of date browser. This website has been developed with modern browsers in mind to allow it to display at its best in a wide variety of viewing situations - including mobile viewing. But we haven't supported older browsers like IE8. Please upgrade to the latest version of Internet Explorer - or try Mozilla Firefox or Google Chrome. Both are excellent browsers.

Thank you.