Welcome to the European Association for Cancer Research
Europe’s membership association for cancer researchers


The Sjöberg Prize 2018 - Call for nominations

The Sjöberg Prize for cancer research is awarded to scientists who have made major contributions to our knowledge about disease mechanisms, risk factors, or the treatment or prevention of cancer.

This new prize is based on a donation from the late businessman Bengt Sjöberg and amounts to 1 million US dollars of which 1/10 is a personal award, with the remainder being used for research. It is therefore a requirement that the nominated scientist is still conducting high-quality cancer research. The prize should preferably be awarded to one recipient, but may be divided among up to three recipients.

Nominations will be treated confidentially and managed by a prize committee that reports to the Academy’s Class for medical sciences. The final decision regarding the 2018 Sjöberg Laureate(s) will be made by the Academy in full session.

The 2017 and inaugural Sjöberg Prize is awarded to Tony Hunter and James P Allison “for groundbreaking studies of cellular processes that have led to the development of new and effective cancer drugs” (

Nominations must be made by individuals and submitted electronically on the form available at The deadline for nominations is 15 May 2017. Nominations should contain a succinct description of the achievements on which the nomination is based, along with a short description of the nominee’s current research activities. The name of the nominee should be kept confidential and nominees should not be informed privately about the proposal before or after the nomination period. The prize ceremony will take place in Stockholm in March 2018, along with a Sjöberg Prize Lecture. Please feel free to share the call for nominations with your colleagues.

Further questions can be directed to the Sjöberg Prize secretary, Rune Toftgård at phone: +46 8 673 95 60, or e-mail:

More information about the Sjöberg Prize

30 Mar 2017

« Back to latest news

The Sjöberg Prize 2018 - Call for nominations

Share this page

Sorry. You need to upgrade your browser

You are using Internet Explorer 8

This is considered an out of date browser. This website has been developed with modern browsers in mind to allow it to display at its best in a wide variety of viewing situations - including mobile viewing. But we haven't supported older browsers like IE8. Please upgrade to the latest version of Internet Explorer - or try Mozilla Firefox or Google Chrome. Both are excellent browsers.

Thank you.