Welcome to the European Association for Cancer Research
Europe’s membership association for cancer researchers

Job and Study Opportunities

Nominations for the Sjöberg Prize 2019, The Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences, Worldwide

Grant opportunity

The Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences invites you to nominate candidate(s) for The Sjöberg Prize 2019.

The Sjöberg Prize for cancer research is awarded to scientists who have made major contributions to our knowledge about disease mechanisms, risk factors, or the treatment or prevention of cancer.

This new prize is based on a donation from the late businessman Bengt Sjöberg and amounts to 1 million US dollars ofwhich 1/10 is a personal award, with the remainder being used for research. It is therefore a requirement that the nominated scientist is still conducting high-quality cancer research and is, preferably, in an ascending phase of her/his scientific career. The prize should preferably be awarded to one recipient, but may be divided among up to three recipients.

Nominations will be treated confidentially and managed by a prize committee that reports to the Academy's Class for medical sciences. The final decision regarding the Sjöberg Laureate(s) 2019 will be made by the Academy in full session.

The inaugural Sjöberg Prize 2017 was awarded to Tony Hunter and James P. Allison "for groundbreaking studies of cellular processes that have led to the development of new and effective cancer drugs".

The Sjöberg Prize 2018 is awarded to Zhu Chen, Anne Dejean and Hugues de The "for clarification of molecular mechanisms, and development of revolutionary treatment of acute promyelocytic leukemia" 


Nominations must be made by individuals and submitted electronically at:

The deadline for nominations is May 1, 2018. Nominations should contain a succinct description of the achievements on which the nomination is based, along with a short description ofthe nominee's current research activities. Recognition of female excellence in science is encouraged. The name of the nominee should be kept confidential and nominees should not be informed privately about the proposal before or after the nomination period. The award ceremony will take place in Stockholm in March 2019, along with a Sjöberg Prize Lecture. Please feel free to share the call for nominations with your colleagues.

Further questions can be directed to the Sjöberg Prize secretary, Rune Toftgård:
phone: +46 8 673 95 60

Application deadline: 01 May 2018

« Back to latest jobs and study opportunities

Application deadline: 01 May 2018

« Back to latest jobs and study opportunities

Share this page

Sorry. You need to upgrade your browser

You are using Internet Explorer 8

This is considered an out of date browser. This website has been developed with modern browsers in mind to allow it to display at its best in a wide variety of viewing situations - including mobile viewing. But we haven't supported older browsers like IE8. Please upgrade to the latest version of Internet Explorer - or try Mozilla Firefox or Google Chrome. Both are excellent browsers.

Thank you.