Welcome to the European Association for Cancer Research
Europe’s membership association for cancer researchers

Standing Committees

On this page:

Awards Committee

The Awards Committee encourages and receives nominations and/or applications for the following awards and selects the winners: The Mike Price Gold Medal Award and jointly, The Pezcoller Foundation – EACR Cancer Researcher Award.

Where the award is for Poster Prizes at the EACR Congress, the Awards Committee will select judges from beyond the Committee.

The Committee will keep published award criteria under review and refer recommendations for substantive changes to the EACR Board for agreement.

The Committee will take opportunities when presented to nominate European cancer researchers for international awards. 

  • Alberto Bardelli, Italy (EACR President) (Chair)
  • Anton Berns, Netherlands
  • Christof von Kalle, Germany
  • Therese Sørlie, Norway
  • Gabriella Sozzi, Italy
  • Hugues de Thé, France

Conference Committee

The EACR organises a popular programme of high quality focussed cancer research conferences.

The Conference Committee plans which focussed meetings the EACR should organise, including the location, duration and scientific topics to be covered. They make their decisions with the following aims in mind: the highest scientific quality, interesting and relevant topics, and an enjoyable experience for participants with many opportunities for networking.

  • Alberto Bardelli, Italy (Chair)
  • Heike Allgayer, Germany
  • Arkaitz Carracedo, Spain
  • Caroline Dive, UK
  • Jessica Downs, UK
  • Verena Jendrossek, Germany
  • Daniel Peeper, Netherlands
  • Eli Pikarsky, Israel
  • Erik Sahai, UK
  • Hugues de Thé, France
  • Emmy Verschuren, Finland

Travel Fellowship Committee

The EACR awards Travel Fellowships to enable early-career cancer researchers to gain new skills through a short-term visit to a lab or research group in another country.

The Committee reviews and assesses all Travel Fellowship applications based on five criteria: the suitability of the applicant, the quality of the host lab, the feasibility of the trip, the benefit for the home lab, and the overall relevance of the project.

  • Leonor David, Portugal
  • Enikö Kallay, Austria
  • Vassiliki Kostourou, Greece
  • Ruth Palmer, Sweden
  • Yardena Samuels, Israel (Chair)

Industry Committee

Remit of the Committee:

  1. To identify and recommend opportunities for the EACR to grow connections with industry
  2. To recommend strategies to support the growth of the EACR’s income from industry
  3. To encourage Board engagement with industry-related activities
  4. To advise on specific applications and business cases
  5. To review performance against plans
  • Alberto Bardelli, Italy
  • Caroline Dive, UK
  • Arkaitz Carracedo, Spain
  • Yardena Samuels, Israel
  • Joan Seoane, Spain (Chair)
  • Andreas Trumpp (Germany)

Finance Committee and Personnel Committee (membership ex-officio)

Remit of the Committee:

  1. To act as an executive group between Board meetings, with delegated authority to make decisions within the remit of the Strategic Plan.  Such decisions will be reported to the Board at its next meeting.
  2. To monitor budget performance and address personnel issues as raised or referred by the Board, Chief Executive Officer or staff members.
  3. Receive and review a quarterly statement of accounts against the budget and consider virement requests, if any, as set out by the Chief Executive Officer.
  4. Receive statements from the Chief Executive Officer relating to the staff performance review process and adjudicate in respect of any salary adjustments.
  5. Consider staffing matters including size, structure and duties of the Secretariat and agree staffing changes where appropriate in the context of the Strategic Plan and Budget.
  6. Agree and maintain policy and procedural guidelines in respect of Finance and Personnel matters in the EACR Staff Handbook.
  • President - Alberto Bardelli, Italy
  • Past-President -  Anton Berns, Netherlands
  • President-Elect - Caroline Dive, UK
  • Secretary General - Joan Seoane, Spain (Chair-Personnel)
  • Treasurer - Richard Marais, UK (Chair-Finance)

National Societies Committee

The National Societies Committee develops relationships between the EACR and affiliated national societies to mutual benefit, by identifying areas for potential collaboration and joint working and by identifying ways in which the EACR can support the work of the societies in their own countries.

  • Alberto Bardelli, Italy (EACR President) (co-Chair)
  • Caroline Dive, UK (EACR President Elect) (co-Chair)
  • Akeila Bellahcène (BACR - Belgium)
  • Mirjana Brankovic–Magic (SDIR - Serbia)
  • Xosé R. Bustelo (ASEICA – Spain)
  • Luis Costa (ASPIC - Portugal)
  • Julian Downward (BACR – UK)
  • Lars Engelholm (DSCF - Denmark)
  • Rainer Engers (AEK – Germany)
  • Sonja Levanat (HDIR - Croatia)
  • Amanda McCann (IACR - Ireland)
  • Péter Nagy (MOT – Hungary)
  • Angel Porgador (ISCR - Israel)
  • Manuel Rodrigues (SFC – France)
  • Gabriella Sozzi (SIC – Italy)
  • Jane Smith (EACR Chief Executive Officer)
  • Engin Ulukaya (MOKAD - Turkey)

Share this page

Sorry. You need to upgrade your browser

You are using Internet Explorer 8

This is considered an out of date browser. This website has been developed with modern browsers in mind to allow it to display at its best in a wide variety of viewing situations - including mobile viewing. But we haven't supported older browsers like IE8. Please upgrade to the latest version of Internet Explorer - or try Mozilla Firefox or Google Chrome. Both are excellent browsers.

Thank you.