Welcome to the European Association for Cancer Research
Europe’s membership association for cancer researchers

Mike Price Gold Medal Award

The European Association for Cancer Research’s Mike Price Gold Medal Award is a biennial award recognising a senior researcher who has made exceptional contributions to the progress of cancer research in Europe.

The Mike Price Gold Medal Award was created in 2012 in memory of Dr. Mike Price, Secretary General of the EACR for 21 years, who died of cancer in 2000. 

2020 Award

The 2020 award will be presented at the EACR 2020 Congress (Torino, Italy, 17-20 June 2020), and the winner will also receive a €10,000 honorarium.

Previous recipients of the Award:

2018: Karen Vousden

2016: Michael Stratton

2014: Harald zur Hausen

2012: José Baselga

Click here to see more about the previous winners of the Mike Price Gold Medal Award

Who was Mike Price?

The Mike Price Gold Medal Award commemorates the life and work of perhaps the most significant figure in the EACR’s history. Mike Price served as Secretary General of the EACR for 21 years. He died in 2000 after fighting bravely for just over a year against an unusual form of cancer. Edith Olah, EACR President at the time, wrote that his death brought immense sadness to all the many members of the EACR who knew and loved him.

Mike Price was an excellent educator and countless students benefitted from his enthusiasm and understanding. Among many initiatives, he was instrumental in setting up the EACR Travel Fellowship programme which continues to give young scientists the opportunity to visit and train in centres of excellence throughout Europe and beyond. 

Share this page

Sorry. You need to upgrade your browser

You are using Internet Explorer 8

This is considered an out of date browser. This website has been developed with modern browsers in mind to allow it to display at its best in a wide variety of viewing situations - including mobile viewing. But we haven't supported older browsers like IE8. Please upgrade to the latest version of Internet Explorer - or try Mozilla Firefox or Google Chrome. Both are excellent browsers.

Thank you.